Course open- please rake bunkers and repair pitchmarks - enjoy your golf
Course Reviews
 

A selection of reviews from Top 100 golf course website reviews and the visitors book in the clubhouse.

 August 17

Couldn't have enjoyed the day more, a great links with wonderful vistas

Thanks to all, especially Jules & Stephen

Scott  New York  

 

May 2017    8 golfers from Beech Park Dublin

We had a fantastic day on your special course, a pleasure to visit

 

May 2017 

Congratulations to Caroline and the team at the golf club. We had rented a house locally and decided to go there on night one for our meal. Its good old fashioned home cooked menu went down really well with everyone in our party. Mixed grills, gammon steaks, fish and chips that's your sort of thing. The service is fantastic and they keep the drink flowing! The dining room at the golf club is huge and when we decided to go back for a second night, Caroline even had a word with the ladies section to allow us to share the dining room with their quiz night. The second meal was excellent as well and I can't recommend the place highly enough. One of only a couple of places locally to walk to, no competition!

 

 

Played here on Sunday May 28. Everything about this golf club was superb. From the welcome & flexibility of the pro shop staff to the fantastic golf course. All aspects were in top condition & thoroughly enjoyable. Easily the best course I have played in the Swansea area.

Wow!!! Unbelievable layout and no hole is the same. The views are to die for and the pro and all the staff very welcoming. Great practice facilities and the greens are a true test. What a course, I'm not surprised it's so highly ranked in Wales

Ian 

 

May 2017

I just wanted to let you know what a great day my husband and I had at your mixed open yesterday and to say thank you

Neither of us is used to Links Golf but had a great time made better by the friendly staff at registration and indeed behind the bar

Unfortunately we could not stay around for the results as we had a 3 hour journey home but despite the lengthy journey home, we are already looking forward to next year

The views are amazing

Thank you again
Kerry     

  

May 2017    Some chaps from Oxford,                                                                                                             A wonderful day. Terrific course, a challenge and a beauty in one  But what really made the day was how friendly and welcoming the members were- can't recommend it highly enough thanks for a brilliant day

Matt & Co

 

 April 2017

On a golf tour from Wiltshire. Friendly folk great course. Would I go back of course I will

Fantastic hospitality¬Ě

 

2015 

Our group has traveled all over The British Isles but hadnt made our way to Wales. We took in what  we tried to depict as the best of Wales Links in a week. Pennard was what I'd call our salute toTom Doak as he recently penned an article in Links Mag for his Unloved¬Ě of which Pennard was featured. Pennard starts out strong and really just keeps getting stronger. Many write about the back nine at Tralee as maybe the best 9.Well Pennard other than the first Par 5 is equal to the back 9 of Tralee for the entire course. You might be taken aback by the roaming cows and the fenced greens but that's just more charm. This course presents spectacular holes on vista laiden land and also much dune circumvention of a grand scale. The real deal though is that you can play 3 rounds here for the cost of one at most of SW Ireland. Wales with Pennard as one of your absolute musts is an itinerary which must be planned.

 

   

 Our group played Pennard twice in july 2014. I didn’t have a clue what to expect as i couldn’t really put my finger on what ‘the links in the sky’ was supposed to mean. Now I do know and I relish the experiences we’ve had. The staff were warm and welcoming and playing the first couple of holes, it immediately comes clear what a nice little quirky linkscourse Pennard is. There’s cattle and sheep all over the place but it only adds to the experience. I dare you to knock your approach stiff when there’s a gigantic bull lurking over your shoulder! The fairways were rough and patchy but somehow it really matches the raw, pure linksgolf that Pennard is all about. On top of that, I heard they’ve recently put in much work to improve the conditions. The greens on the other hand were top­notch. The back nine is just spectacular. To review every hole would be too long a story, but thinking back every single hole was a standout hole. The 10th is a fantastic risk reward par 5, the 14th is a magnificent par 4, especially from the raised back tee which gives you the most beautiful panorama over the bay, and the back to back par 5’s 16 and 17 are fantastic holes that really make Pennard stick with you. Pennard is a short course for modern standards, but you will need every club in your bag and a lot of long irons and 3woods will be required from the tee. You’ll need to imagine every shot before hitting it, and preferably be able to work the ball high, low, left and right. When we finished and had tied for all square after a finishing silly 3 putt­ bogey by yours truely, we asked the caddiemaster if we perhaps could go on for a sudden death play off, partly because we both had such a great time playing the course. The caddiemaster insisted we played another 9 holes which ofcourse we accepted gladly, before we had to hurry to arrive in a local pub right on time for Hollands’ quarter final of the World Cup Football. Combine all of the above with a steal of a greenfee: I could play this course every week for the rest of my life and never grow tired of it. Yes it’s quirky, and some landing area’s make you frown at first, but real good shots never ended up badly. Is it worth 6 balls? No, but Pennard puts an ear­ to­ ear smile on your face and that’s worth a lot.

Maarten (MO) 03 February 2015

I’ve had the good fortune to play some fabulous links golf courses including, Royal County Down, Royal Portrush, Royal Birkdale and Royal Porthcawl. Now I’m not saying that Pennard is in the same league as these which are world class links courses. But it is seriously good. I played Pennard on 14th November 2014, 13 C and sunny with a gentle 1 to 2 club wind. Its a real gem old fasioned links course, rippling fairways with some staggeringly jaw dropping views. As I walked along the first, I glanced back and feast my eyes on the gorgeous holes I’d yet to experience. There isn’t a bad hole in there, all are interesting. It is a very undulating quirky course and like most old links the main defence is the wind. Some delightful deeply tiered bunkering which must be admired even when you’re in one. It’s a class links which isn’t that long but some of the best holes I’ve played aren’t. There are just too many quality holes to list them all. The greens were in excellent condition for the time of year. The fairways as previously mentioned in other reviews are a bit scruffy, there appears to be some turf problems. But this honestly doesn’t distract from a really excellent course.

17 November 2014

This is one of the few courses you could truly recommend taking non­golfers to! The walk, with or without clubs, is just fantastic and the views just keep getting better as the round progresses. There are plenty of blind shots, but apart from the 17th hole, too quirky even for my taste, everything else is actually manageable the first time, as long as you factor in the wind, the bounce and the roll of the ball, but who wouldn’t on a links course? The greens were slightly slow, but true, so presented a decent challenge in the beginning of May 2014. Would not like to play them a lot faster without knowing the course intimately though. Rating is tough: views are clearly 6­ball, but the finish is 4­ball max, so I settled for a 5­ball.

13 May 2014

We have just got back from a weekend golfing in south wales. Playing Royal Porthcawl on Friday, Machynys Peninsula on Saturday and then finishing off with Pennard yesterday. If I am totally honest I wasn’t overly bothered about playing Pennard before arriving and all I can say is how glad I am that I did. This is an absolute gem of a course, undulating, quirky, short but tough, scenic and an unbelievably friendly clubhouse and golf pro. Its not in Royal Porthcawl’s class as a course but it still has some very special holes of its own with a great finishing three that could ruin any good round. I would happily play this course every week if possible as the atmosphere around the place was amazing, the course was in excellent condition and the views are just sublime.

04 November 2013

In this Section